Event State

Hi there,

I am relatively new to your API so please forgive me if a similar question has already been asked! First off, I must say that the API is amazing & I am amazed that Smarkets provide live event scores (from what I’ve seen) which is a real benefit & something other exchanges don’t provide so thank you for that!

On to my question, I am attempting to get additional information about certain events so I use the v3/events/{event_ids}/states. I’ve run this against a few football events and have found the info & provider_metadata props quite useful in terms of grabbing the competition name. I’ve noticed that under info there can/is a prop called gsm_competition_id. If the name of the competition is not available (usually under provider_metadata), is there still a way I can grab the competition name using this ID? Also, is it possible to know the minimum that would be present in these objects info & provider_metadata?

One last thing, within this call to get event states, would it be in scope to add the country code of where the event is taking place? Again, I am new to this API so sorry if this already exists & I’ve just not found it yet :slight_smile:

Thank you,
Will

Hey Will

Thanks for the kind words - we are constantly working on improving our API and any feedback is more than welcome!

You have spotted two things in our API which I am not very happy about: the info.gsm_competition_id field and the provider_metadata field. We put these fields in there because there was no way for our customers to identify to which competition/league the event related but as you mention it’s inconsistent: these fields are only present for some events.