The Hundred (3 August - 3 September 2022)

It kicks off this week. Southern Brave looking to defend their title from last season. Squads listed as below:

Birmingham Phoenix: Matthew Wade, Kane Richardson, Olly Stone (injured), Tom Abell, Moeen Ali, Chris Benjamin, Henry Brookes, Miles Hammond, Benny Howell, Liam Livingstone, Adam Milne, Will Smeed, Chris Woakes, Graeme van Buuren, Imran Tahir, Tom Helm (replaced Matthew Fisher), Dan Mousley (18)

Overseas players: 3

London Spirit: Kieron Pollard, Liam Dawson, Nathan Ellis (replaced Riley Meredith), Jordan Thompson, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Chris Wood, Ravi Bopara, Mason Crane, Zak Crawley, Dan Lawrence, Josh Inglis (replaces Glenn Maxwell while on international duty), Eoin Morgan, Adam Rossington, Brad Wheal, Mark Wood, Ben McDermott, Jamie Smith, Toby Roland-Jones (replaced Blake Cullen) (18)

Overseas players: 4

Manchester Originals: Andre Russell, Laurie Evans, Wanindu Hasaranga, Daniel Worrall, Sean Abbott, Colin Ackermann, Jos Buttler, Calvin Harrison, Tom Hartley, Fred Klaassen, Tom Lammonby, Wayne Madsen, Jamie Overton, Matt Parkinson, Ollie Robinson, Phil Salt, Ashton Turner, Richard Gleeson (18)

Overseas players: 4

Northern Superchargers: Dwayne Bravo, Wahab Riaz, Harry Brook, Jordan Clark (replaced Brydon Carse), Faf du Plessis, Adam Lyth, Callum Parkinson, Matthew Potts, Adil Rashid, John Simpson, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Adam Hose, Roelof van der Merwe, David Wiese, Ben Raine, Michael Pepper (replaced Luke Wright) (17)

Overseas players: 4

Oval Invincibles: Sunil Narine, Rilee Rossouw, Danny Briggs, Hilton Cartwright, Matt Milnes, Jack Leaning, Sam Billings, Rory Burns (released to play for Surrey in RLC), Jordan Cox, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Will Jacks, Jason Roy, Nathan Sowter, Reece Topley, Mohammad Hasnain, Pat Brown (replaced Gus Atkinson, who replaced Saqib Mahmood), Jack Haynes (18)

Overseas players: 4

Southern Brave: Jofra Archer, Tim David, Alex Davies, George Garton, Chris Jordan, Jake Lintott, Tymal Mills, Craig Overton, Paul Stirling (replaces Marcus Stoinis while on international duty), James Vince, Ross Whiteley, Rehan Ahmed, Joe Weatherley, Dan Moriarty, Finn Allen, Micheal Hogan, James Fuller (replaced Quinton de Kock) (17)

Overseas players: 4

Trent Rockets: Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Colin Munro, Ian Cockbain, Luke Fletcher, Matt Carter, Sam Cook, Marchant de Lange, Lewis Gregory, Alex Hales, Tabriaiz Shamsi (replaces Rashid Khan while on international duty), Dawid Malan, Tom Moores, Steven Mullaney, Samit Patel, Joe Root, Luke Wood, Daniel Sams, Ben Mike (18)

Overseas players: 4

Welsh Fire: Joe Clarke, Tom Banton, Adam Zampa, David Miller, Naseem Shah, Sam Hain, Jake Ball, Jonny Bairstow, Josh Cobb, Matt Critchley, Ben Duckett, Leus du Plooy, Ryan Higgins, David Payne, Ollie Pope, Jacob Bethell, Noor Ahmad, George Scrimshaw (18)

Overseas players: 4

Quote Reply

Birmingham Phoenix (Playing XI): Will Smeed, Miles Hammond, Moeen Ali(c), Liam Livingstone, Chris Benjamin(w), Dan Mousley, Benny Howell, Graeme van Buuren, Tom Helm, Kane Richardson, Imran Tahir

Trent Rockets (Playing XI): Alex Hales, Dawid Malan, Colin Munro, Joe Root, Tom Kohler-Cadmore(w), Lewis Gregory(c), Samit Patel, Daniel Sams, Rashid Khan, Luke Wood, Matthew Carter

Trent Rockets bowling first

Welsh Fire need 159 off 100 balls to beat the Invincibles in Game 5

Change of innings odds:

Invincibles 1.39 v 3.25 Welsh FIre

direct hit and Clarke was gone there

Game 5 of the The Hundred

Welsh Fire Need 93 off 50 Balls [9 Wickets In Hand] to beat The Oval Invincibles

pretty interesting game here.

Clarke needs to hit out or get out now

32 off 24 a bit too circumspect for me

London Spirit look the real deal to me.

Going to be challenging for the title with that solid batting lineup

Phoenix: 1 Will Smeed, 2 Matthew Wade, 3 Moeen Ali (capt), 4 Liam Livingstone, 5 Chris Benjamin (wk), 6 Miles Hammond, 7 Benny Howell, 8 Tom Helm, 9 Henry Brookes, 10 Kane Richardson, 11 Imran Tahir

Brave: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 James Vince (capt), 3 Marcus Stoinis, 4 Alex Davies, 5 Tim David, 6 Ross Whiteley, 7 James Fuller, 8 George Garton, 9 Chris Jordan, 10 Jake Lintott, 11 Tymal Mills

Brave won the toss and elected to bowl first

Runs line for Phoenix is around the Under/Over 155.5 runs verse the Brave

Southern Brave need 177 Runs off 100 balls to beat the Birmingham Phoenix to win game 8

Well played Will Smeed on your 100

Will Smeed is getting an IPL contract next year. Wouldn’t be massively surprised if he’s a wildcard pick for England in the World Cup. On this form there’s every chance he get in.

Surprise to hear that

dont know if its just me but de Kock has never really striked me as someone that can bat deep under pressure. Gets out with a rash short there

Can the man from Singapore save the Southern Brave here? Mighty Tim David

Henry Brookes with a 5fer!


Northern Superchargers (Playing XI): Adam Lyth, Faf du Plessis(c), Michael-Kyle Pepper, Dwayne Bravo, John Simpson(w), Adam Hose, David Wiese, Craig Miles, Roelof van der Merwe, Ben Raine, Adil Rashid

Oval Invincibles (Playing XI): Jason Roy, Rilee Rossouw, Sam Curran, Hilton Cartwright, Jordan Cox(w/c), Sunil Narine, Tom Curran, Jack Haynes, Reece Topley, Matt Milnes, Danny Briggs

Invincibles won the toss and elected to bowl first in Game 9

Previous scores batting at The Oval 1st in the Hundred: 145, 121, 125, 146, 96, 171 (in order of most recent)

Sam Curran gets the first wicket of the innings, next batter Michael Pepper

Lyth 50 up in 17 balls, some clean hitting here

Lyth goes for 79 off 32 delivers

Fair innings that one